Barb and I have decided, in our retirement that we would like to visit every state in the U.S. There will be a series of blogs chronicling our progress towards our goal, and some sights we saw there.

As a child my family traveled a lot. We settled down in Hawaii, living there longer than any other location. I believed I was an Island boy. I ate exotic foods and spoke pigeon english.  Moving to Minnesota for school I was introduced to a foreign place with temperature extremes I had never experienced before. It was hard for me to embrace this region as home.

Much of my life has been lived in limbo, not able to declare where home was. Before getting married I asked Barb where she would like to live when we got married. There was only one place for her. Minnesota. I would tell people that I lived here for love and the day I stopped loving my wife, would be the day my taillights could be seen headed south.

Children were born and we set about raising them. In time our children had children and they have all freely embraced Minnesota as their home. I still was reluctant to call Minnesota home.

We decided to dip into Barb’s bucket list. She had always wanted to go to Hawaii. So we went. Everything was new to her. For me there were places I recognized, and places I didn’t. Driving down the street I grew up on, I realized that I didn’t recognize the house of my youth. I could have identified it with a bit more persistence. What I realized was that, not only did I not recognize the house, I didn’t recognize the child that grew up in that house.

What I came away with was a deep understanding that Minnesota is my home.  I’m not an island boy, I haven’t spoken pigeon english in fifty years. I am  a Minnesotan. This is where my heart is. This is home.  

