Sitting in church yesterday, for some odd reason, I looked around the room and imagined the 150 or so hearts pumping, the 150 pairs of lungs, kidneys, pancreases that were all functioning enough to keep everyone alert and engaged in the service.

Later that day I heard about a 16 year old girl who lived in our subdivision and was to be a Junior next year at our local high school. She decided to go for a run. Shortly after starting, she collapsed and died on the trail, a short distance from her home. Something failed, and a tragic end to a young life was the result.

It is so hard for me not to take my life for granted. It is hard to live in the moment, to be grateful for the all the systems that sustain my life. Organs and glands do not continue to function based on my feelings of gratitude. The systems tirelessly maintain their vigilance to sustain my body and mind. They don’t need gratitude to keep them functioning. But I can still be grateful.

Thank you heart! Thank you lungs! Thank you bladder…huh? (the last line is to keep it from getting lost in syrupy rhetoric.) And even when I am not aware of how strong my dependence is on you, I thank you for your steadfast labor on my behalf.

